Up in the Tree Tops

Valley of the Giants tree Top Walk
Valley of the Giants tree Top Walk

Today I am sharing an exciting walk among the tree tops at the Valley of the Giants near Walpole South West Australia. It is a very good place to visit with both a tree top walk on suspension bridges and a walk down on the ground around the base of the Tingle Trees. It is not for the faint hearted as the tree top walk sways  as you walk and in the wind. My travelling companion turned back as she was not comfortable with the feeling but then she decided that she could not let me outdo her lol so she re-joined me holding very tightly to the hand rails. It was lovely to get a birds eye view of both the tree tops and the forest below us. lots of different green on the forest floor. There were a few birds flying around us as well but not too many.

the walk way
the walk way
a sense of achievement
a sense of achievement
View down from the suspension walk
View down from the suspension walk
my travelling companion in the distance they were quite long spans
my travelling companion in the distance they were quite long spans

When we got back down to the ground there was another walk among the base of these large and tall trees. They are often hollowed out by bush fires and yet they grow again.

I also discovered what a “burl” was I had heard of burl walnut used as a furniture wood and other timber the same but never known what it was. So I learnt something on the ground walk which is always an added extra for me. I am enjoying looking back over my photos and putting them together for my posts and I hope you all enjoy them too.

a burl on the tree
a burl on the tree
what is a burl?
what is a burl?
there are large hollows in bases of many of the trees
there are large hollows in bases of many of the trees
sign about the Tingle trees
sign about the Tingle trees

DSCF4834

Leave a Reply

