Reading for life long pleasure

Since retiring I have joined the Hawera U3A organisation’s Book club

The purpose of U3A is to:

  • Encourage further learning by listening, understanding, contributing, researching and participating in discussion and relevant excursions about new topics.
  • Tap the great reservoir of knowledge, skills and experience of retired men and women.
  • Provide a venue for the meeting together of like minded people to learn, contribute and to make new friends in their local community.

(courtesy of the U3A NZ website)

Hawera U3A has about sixty members and they are a wide group of people from all walks of life. I am enjoying getting to know them. There are several different study groups including a Book Club with approx. 12 members. Today I was at the June meeting. It was my third visit and I am really enjoying it.  We all gather for a cup of coffee and biscuit then when everyone has arrived we discuss the books we have each read and share recommendations. There are serious readers, light readers and non fiction readers amongst us and it is great I come away with lists of books to read. We also share copies of our own books if we wish to and these are entered in a notebook so they don’t get lost.

Books have always been a part of my life. Birthdays and Christmas would bring exciting new books and those Christmas Annuals were so good they gave me reading material for the long 6 weeks of summer holidays. (I still have some of those treasures put away in a box). Mum always knew where to find me with my nose stuck in a book, “come and do the dishes” she would call and I would reply “when I’ve finished the chapter.” sometimes I got away with it lol. I remember reading at night under the blankets with a torch no wonder I needed glasses by the time I was about 9. Mum had taken me to the Library as soon as I could read and I could not believe how many books there were. I remember a whole shelf of myths and fables from around the world and worked my way through all the countries. I also read all the Heidi books and longed to visit Switzerland one day. Old favourites like the Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven and The Famous Five and the American  Bobbsey Twins were well read and shared with friends.

Books have kept me company through the many highs and lows of life and continue to do so. I can not imagine a world with out books. I still prefer the real hard copy but if pushed I will read an ebook. For leisure or research nothing beats having my hands on a book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reading for life long pleasure

  1. Aunt Beulah June 11, 2015 / 2:57 pm

    How happy I am to discover we share a fondness for book clubs, libraries, Heidi, and the Bobbsey Twins. To this day I like to have 4 or 5 books waiting for me to read them. I enjoyed learning about your reading history.

    Like

    • Lynne C Walker June 11, 2015 / 7:11 pm

      Thanks it is nice to find these links through blogging and throughout the world. I enjoy your blogs

      Like

Leave a Reply

