Life flashes by

My goodness it is so long (19 days!) since I last posted and what  have I been doing I ask myself?  Firstly has come family. My mother’s brother my Uncle Cliff is 83 and after being in Taranaki for many many years he decided the time had come for him to move closer to his son over in Gisborne. This was a huge decision and while his nieces and nephews will miss calling in on him we were supportive. My sister and I offered to assist by cleaning the unit after he left and we all offered help to pack but as he is very independent that was a no go.:)  My sister and I took him out to Lunch to say farewell and then saw him off two weeks later.

DSCF5152

We spent all afternoon cleaning up the little unit after he and his son left with a very full truck, and then last week I had a trip up to collect the last of his things that they had no room for in the truck and they are stored at my place till he comes back for them. So that was family.

Then art came to the fore and I discovered the joys of using a “gelli plate” to print patterns and stencils onto paper and my art journal. It was such fun and messy and I enjoyed playing with all my bright acrylic colours. Discovering how the colours would blend and getting both positive and negative designs from one stencil.

On the 13 and 14 June 2015 there was an Open Art Studio weekend here in Taranaki with so many Artists opening their studios to visitors that we could not get to all of them. However a friend and I set off with a plan and managed to visit four studios, an art gallery and had lunch in a hotel which had the proprietor’s amazing art collection on show. All this was achieved on one rather wet and wild Saturday.  It was great we both really enjoyed meeting the artists and talking about their work with them. There were lots of other folk doing the art trail as well.

Lastly I have been involved with the local art Gallery and am now on the committee that runs it. I am looking forward to volunteering my time and skills to promote the gallery to  Hawera and the world. Our current exhibition celebrates Puanga which is the Taranaki Maori New Year.

2015-06-17 23.01.51

Life is fun, busy and I am enjoying the different directions it takes me.

2 thoughts on “Life flashes by

  1. Aunt Beulah June 26, 2015 / 6:38 am

    I envy those who have the ability to create art. I cook well, write well, laugh well, and exercise well; but I don’t do art. However, I do enjoy the art of others and your art walk sounds like a wonderful thing.

    Like

    • Lynne C Walker June 26, 2015 / 7:39 am

      Art they say is in the eye of the beholder and I always thought that I was not “arty”. But I am having fun exploring the creative side of me and a wonderful friend said to me ” it does not need to be perfect , just play and you will learn” that gave me the freedom to try. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

