Seasons Greeting

DSCF5732Christmas day is over once again and most of us are either breathing a sign of relief, enjoying our families being home for the holidays or taking part in the madness of the Boxing day sales. It is a beautiful summers day here in Hawera and my neighbours are out mowing lawns probably prior to going away on holiday. I hosted Christmas Lunch for my siblings this year and it was great to have them and their families gather around my table celebrating Christmas and catching up with each other.

I hope that for most of you today is a day of relaxation I can not think of anything worse than to go out shopping for “bargains” in crowded shopping malls or town centres. That is not what Christmas is about. I am not overly religious but over the past few years have come to the realisation that we can live life much more simply and in a less stressful way if we do not buy into all the hype.

When I was a child our family did not have a lot of money so we used to make our presents for each other and it was so good for us to be creative and also know that the gift you received had been made especially for you. I remember one year using my pocket money to buy little calendars which I then attached to pictures I had made and stuck on cardboard.  I received a couple of those types of gifts this year and it was lovely.

Of course I still enjoy getting all of my presents regardless as I know my family and friends pick special things for me. I am a Christmas Child at heart and always have the decorations up and send out Christmas Cards.This year I made about 40 Christmas cards  and enjoyed the act of crafting them and adding embellishments and then choosing who to give each card to.

In a few days it will be another New Year and my hope is for a more peaceful year for the world, for good health, happiness and prosperity  for my family and friends and all of you who read my blogs. May 2016 show that the Human Race can get their Act together and work one small step at a time to make our world a better place.

Lynne

2 thoughts on “Seasons Greeting

  1. SimpleLivingOver50 December 28, 2015 / 2:15 am

    Lynne, it sound like a wonderful Christmas. I too have been thinking a great deal about making gifts for my loved ones at Christmas. I am going to work on this idea in the coming year.

    Like

  2. Aunt Beulah January 1, 2016 / 8:46 am

    What a lovely Christmas message and wish for a good new year this post is, Lynne. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

