Road trip

A couple of weeks ago I set off on a road trip to catch up with several friends. I travelled down to Masterton for 6 days then up the island to Cambridge. Because I like driving off the main highways and exploring my friends told me about highway 54 from Ashurst (Palmerston North)  bypassing Fielding and then connecting with State Highway 1 at Vinegar Hill. They also told me to watch out for this viewing lookout. So I stopped and got some photos.  It was amazing as it shows thousands of years of river beds and how the land was formed. Once I was on Highway 1 I headed north to Taihape and then on up the desert road. it was at least 14 years since I had been on that road so really enjoyed myself.

Stayed with friends in Cambridge and then Morrinsville, huge changes in the roads up there, lots of new express ways and towns being bypassed. It is so nice to catch up with old friends , chat about old times and relax over a wine and a meal, lots of coffee as well. I even fitted in a little art as well and a visit to Raglan.

Then it was time to head home and back to my world of gardens that needed work  and a week filled with meetings. A lovely friend had mowed my lawns so that was a neat surprise.

A road trip  is such fun, find new roads and by ways, sharing experiences with friends and refreshing your own spirits. Do my readers enjoy doing this, I wonder? Do they have the opportunity to drive off into the country , visit old friends and explore their world. We are so lucky in this country that we can be mobile easily. I am blessed to have wonderful friends and a car that takes me safely around the country and the health and time to do it now that I am retired.

 

3 thoughts on “Road trip

  1. Aunt Beulah March 21, 2016 / 3:20 am

    I like the way you take such pleasure in, and feel such gratitude for, your life. I also agree that there is nothing better than a road trip that leads you to friends.

    Like

  2. candidkay March 31, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    Old friends, wine, meal, coffee and art–sounds like one level of Heaven:).

    Like

Leave a Reply

